Town of Books & Michaelmas Festival

The Town of Books is on this weekend in Graiguenamanagh, Co. Kilkenny, along with the traditional music festival. After looking forward to this all year, wouldn’t you know it, both my husband & I are too unwell to go enjoy them! I did manage to sniffle along to a few book stalls in the drizzle of yesterday afternoon & found 2 Michael Connelly mysteries for my (considerably sicker than me,) better half.  Today (Sunday) I’ve got to work, so will miss Micheal Kelly of Grow It Yourself Ireland speaking at 3pm. The plan was to send The Hubby to listen & report back, so if anyone reading this went- let me know what you thought!

Next weekend is another favorite- the Michaelmas Festival ( their website is quite good, with interesting history & photos as well as the current events listing & such.) Last year we really enjoyed  the lovely weather, beautiful breeds of farmyard animals & old fashioned farming items & skills on display, and some VERY tasty duck pie & steak & Guinness pie from one of the stands. There’s lots more on offer, too, & we bought this lovely pitcher from a stall featuring local New Ross potters Lavery Pottery.

Not to forget the tasty pint or two on offer from the local pubs!

We didn’t win in the duck race (payback for eating a relative?) but it was great fun to watch, especially when the swans crashed the party!

I recommend this charming festival, & we’ll be taking our immune booster to be sure we don’t miss it!

PS: I’LL HAVE A NEW UPDATE ON  OUR LITTLE RESCUE DOG PETAL (WITH NEW PHOTOS) IN A FEW DAYS 🙂

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Edie
    Sep 21, 2010 @ 11:59:58

    Your festivals look interesting. Like you, I’m a Christmas-fanatic and the Fall festivals mean that Christmas is around the corner. Some of the stores here already have Christmas items out – it’s a little bit of overkill since Halloween is still a month away. Are you a big crafter for the holidays? I am. I usually try to make most of my gifts/cards. My sister is in a nursing home so she can’t get out much to buy things so I’ve been working on her Christmas cards already.

    I’ll have to see if they have Strictly Come Dancing on BBC America. They just brought on Come Dine with Me and we LOVE it! Nothing like that here.

    Reply

  2. Catherine Rotte-Murray
    Sep 21, 2010 @ 22:10:53

    Susan this looks like a lovely place and I’ve never been – another must-see on my Irish hidden places list! We have heard of the Graiguenamanagh books festival as we have the Immrama travel writing festival in Lismore each June. Lovely jug in the picture. Thanks for visiting my blog and commenting on Donegal – I’ll respond over there soon!
    All the best, Catherine.

    Reply

    • aflowergal
      Sep 25, 2010 @ 18:21:20

      Catherine, I just checked my spam filter & somehow it decided your comment was spam! So sorry! Graig is lovely, & a fair bit of festivals and such go on there for the small size of the place! The Michaelmas festival is on this w/end, & November brings the Duiske concert series. There are 3 concerts this year, 1 traditional, 1 vocal, & 1 classical music-if I remember correctly. I’ll likely do a post on that as soon as I get my facts straight!

      Reply

  3. aflowergal
    Sep 22, 2010 @ 10:53:18

    Yes, CDw/M really has become huge! I think there is an Irish version coming this Autumn, too. Although I really love the idea of handmaking wonderful cards and gifts, I usually don’t actually do it 😦 We did make Christmas gifts last year- essential oil perfumes that we combined with each recipient’s personality in mind. That was loads of fun, & not as foreign for me as making other types of gifts might be, as I’ve loads of wonderful essential oils left from my ‘past life'(LOL) as a holistic therapist a few years ago. I’m sure we will be crafting some more gifts this year; likely food related by The HubbyChef, and garden related by me. You sound so organized, starting already!Will you be posting some photos of what you make this year on your blog, to inspire us aspiring Christmas crafters?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

