WordPress vs Blogger

What to do? What to do? Everywhere I turn, I hear more experienced bloggers singing the praises of WordPress- dot org, that is, mainly. As a happy shiny newbie (& complete non-techie!) I started off using Blogger in July, and managed to make using it a struggle even though it’s meant to be easy-peasy! After much ranting & begging, I mostly got the hang of it, but then I heard the siren call of ” come to WordPress, WordPress; it’s so wonderful!” Hmmmm…so here I am, I’ve tried it…and I don’t think I like it. Yes, I know it’s the .com & not the .org, but I didn’t want to pay for something that would be difficult for me to set up & that I’d not be able to easily customise. I want to be able to tweek my colour scheme in tune with the seasons or topics written about – girly, perhaps, but I am a colour fanatic!  And, oh god, I do need something for idiot bloggers because somehow, even tho’ I’ve inserted pictures before, this time I can’t seem to write below the photo & the text is all up here.… I’m sure it is something simple- but what?? You see how hard it would be for me to try to do something that needed any computer skills! I still need a bit of instruction; anyone have a 10-year-old they could lend?

Part of my dilemma is that I’ve just made my old Blogger blog all lovely & purple: http://joyousflowers.blogspot.com/ and even tho’ I’ve tried just about all the free WP themes on this site, they just aren’t colour happy enough! And I can’t seem to add a few of the plug-ins that I’d like- the Blog Action Day or the Christmas (yes, I’m an overgrown child) Countdown. So- what to do, what to do?? I had better make a choice, and stick to it, if I want to have any followers at all one day!  So- any comments on the  pros & cons of WordPress.com vs Blogger are VERY welcome!

Whew!  And I’ve still got to figure out where I’ll set up the business blog (again, must be easy & free!) for the Blooming Brilliant Garden Centre!

colour!!
4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dee Sewell
    Oct 12, 2010 @ 18:25:03

    I feel your pain! I was looking for somewhere to follow you and couldn’t find it. I appreciate you’re looking for some constructive advice here but as a fellow Blogger I’m tempted to watch and see if you sort it out! Sorry. 🙂 There’s talk of a another KLCK meeting discussing this issue soon.

    Reply

    • aflowergal
      Oct 12, 2010 @ 19:37:18

      Dee, it’s so easy to follow someone with Blogger, isn’t it- you don’t need to be using a RSS feed reader thingy like on WordPress. It took me a while to figure that out, & I know there are others like me- and to make it worse in some browsers- like Chrome- the RSS button doesn't always work properly. That's my understanding, anyhow! Thanks for stopping by to comment 🙂 Hopefully there will be some advice from folks that we both can benefit from!

      Reply

  2. jbbi
    Oct 13, 2010 @ 09:11:12

    Hi Susan, as a new blogger am interested in your comments. I used wordpress as it is supposed to be THE one, but found it quite difficult to get to grips with for several days. I was trying to do things I thought it should do, but the template wouldn’t allow. Having found a more suitable template am finding it easier – just need to work out what the widgets do and hence, which ones I want/need! I dont know anything about RSS feed/reader – as far as I know am not using it.
    At the end of the day you have to use which ever is most comfortable for you, or has widgets or templates you prefer.
    Shall follow/subscribe to both your blogs so I dont ‘lose’ you.
    Jillx
    PS Like the business name – part of the Blooming family!!

    Reply

    • aflowergal
      Oct 13, 2010 @ 09:37:37

      Thanks, Jill!It was kind of nice to find someone who struggled w/ WP at 1st, too- I don’t feel so alone! The RSS buttons didn’t seem to work in the 1st WP theme I used, but in this one- Andreas- I was able to add them. (Somehow, from somewhere, but I can’t remember how:( I think it was from the WordPress site plug-ins Help. They are handy because then folks can subscribe in feeds like Google Reader by clicking the button. I have a feeling I may go Blogger for me personally; still unsure about the Garden Centre one. Here’s to all of our ‘Blooming’ blogs going well! 🙂 Thanks for subscribing!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

